UPDATED: Feb 25, 2020
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about life insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything life insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by life insurance experts.
Bluetooth headsets are about to become all the rage in California. The reason? On July 1, the state will begin fining drivers caught using cell phones while driving; unless they are using a hands-free device such as a Bluetooth headset. Additionally, drivers under the age of 18 will be ticketed if caught using any cell phone while driving, including a hands-free set.
Fines are scheduled to begin at $20 for a first offense, increasing up to $50 for multiple offenses.
It will be interesting to see if other states will take California’s lead. Perhaps the new law will help to reduce automobile accident rates. If so, we could even see auto insurance premiums affected.
Something tells me police officers in Beverly Hills will be busier than normal.