Like OMG… No More Texting for Massachusetts Drivers

Ready to get started?

Your quotes are always free.

Tim is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance. He writes and creates stuff for QuickQuote and other insurance and financial websites...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about life insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything life insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by life insurance experts.

The Massachusetts House of Representatives recently passed legislation banning automobile drivers from talking on cell phones or sending/reading text messages while driving. Fines will be $100 for the first offense, $250 for the second and $500 for the third and beyond. Hands-free handset calls are exempt as are emergency calls.

Insurance companies may also benefit directly from the new legislation as they can begin charging an additional premium surcharge to ticketed offenders on July 1, 2009.

Opponents of the legislation argued it is unfair to restrict the use of such technology while continuing to allow drivers to smoke cigarettes, eat food, read maps and apply makeup while behind the wheel.

 

Ready to get started?

Your quotes are always free.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption